The Shit List

What not to say to the newly bereaved/ annoying things people say to me:

FYI, my fiancé died, so I guess most of these relate to partner deaths, or just my overactive, over analysing mind.

Don’t cry. – I’ll flipping do what I want and its people like you that have made it hard to show my emotions, so I’m dying on the inside instead.

Oh but you weren’t married right?! Go f yourself, why should that even matter, also I’d been with him longer than the person asking had been with her husband.

Are you dating again then? Urm no, its been 4 months and I can barely speak a coherent sentence still. Your small talk is lacking, I didn’t let you know this offended me, but boy that stung.

Oh you’ve lost weight, you look good. Thanks, part of me wants to look hot 24/7 because you never look better than when struggling to stay afloat. The other part of me is unable to food shop because of the anxiety of shopping for one, and cries at the thought of eating alone…again.

Go home, you always stay late in work– Dude I sit alone binge watching Netflix, scoffing a whole pack of donuts and chain smoking , be happy to get free work off me, I’m sure my bodies better being here.

  • How are you?- Wow suddenly my mind is in overdrive, what do they mean, like truly how am I coping, or is a pleasantry??! Ahh shit, answer *chokes a little* I’m fine.

First time meeting a guy worries– So, what are you’re interests? Uhhhhh, making scrap books about my dead partner, shit no, don’t say that, uhh ah my interests were him, I blended into him and became one, what’s normal for a 20 something woman to like?! I like bed.

Why don’t you ever come visit?- Probs because I hate leaving the house and you’re awkward to be around because you edge around stuff, sometimes I like to bring shit up just to make you feel uncomfortable because that’s how you make me feel.

Wow, you’re out again! Yep drinking to forget, maybe hang out with me in a normal situation and help me adjust back into normality without booze.

What are you going to do? Are you going to move back to your parents? – dude its been 2 days I can hardly breathe right now, I don’t want to be smothered when I want to run the mountains and scream. Don’t make me think ahhhhhh.

If there’s anything I can do, let me know. So this is sweet, and everyone has good intentions, but when your eyes are glazed over, you’re pulling your hair out and your attempting to smother yourself with a blanket, the helper ideally needs to take the initiative, small gestures, I never expected anyone to come massage my feet, but support comes in many different ways, #JustLetMeSpoonYou

Sorry I didn’t contact you, I didn’t know what to say. I think you’re a wimp, I don’t sit at home crying 24/7, and I don’t expect you to know what to say, send me a funny picture if you can’t handle awkwardness, ill reply ‘lol’ you’ll feel better about yourself, and ill know my mind isn’t telling me the truth that it was actually me that died, it’s nice to exist.

 

 

Reading back though all that I actually feel like a selfish b**ch, but, that’s my mind now I guess!!

x

Leave a Reply

